Great American cities have prestigious forums for intellectually motivating and deeply relevant economic discussion. The Economic Club of Utah serves this purpose for the State of Utah. An initiative of the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah, the club is a forum to share research, data and analysis important to the success of the Utah economy. Like the economic clubs of Chicago, New York and Washington D.C., the Economic Club of Utah brings together leading economists and business leaders and aims to cultivate the next generation of economic and civic leadership. The club serves the entire state, replaces what was previously known as the Wasatch Front Economic Forum, and serves as the local chapter for the National Association for Business Economics (NABE).


The Economic Club of Utah supports many objectives for the David Eccles School of Business, the University of Utah, and the state of Utah.



Current Members and Officers

Club membership includes a diverse mix of economic, public policy, business and community leaders dedicated to the long-term success of the Utah economy. The Club is led by a board of directors comprised of public and private sector economics expertise and a slate of officers who oversee the daily leadership of the organization.


President Mark Knold, Senior Economist, Department of Workforce Services

SecretaryNick Thiriot, Communications Specialist, Univeristy of Utah

Treasurer Colleen Larson, Administrative Manager, University of Utah

Membership ChairMatt Hillburn, Research Manager, Economic Development Corporation of Utah

Program and Event Chair – Lana Howell, Director of Market Research, Coldwell Banker Commercial Advisors

Young Leaders ChairMichael Parker, Public Policy Coordinator, Salt Lake Chamber

Utah Economic Council

Phil Dean, Utah Governor’s Office, Co-Chair

Juliette Tennert, University of Utah, Co-Chair

Stephen Kroes, Utah Foundation

Darin Mellott, CBRE

David Stringfellow, State of Utah

Natalie Gochnour, Salt Lake Chamber

Robert SpendloveZions Bank

Carrie Mayne, Utah Department of Workforce Services

Leslee Katayama, Utah State Tax Commission

Doug MacDonald, EconoWest

Kate Rubalcava, Utah Nonprofits Association

Kjersten Adams, Cicero Group

Tom Maloney, University of Utah

John Gilbert, Utah State University

Jim Wood, University of Utah

Wes Curtis, Southern Utah University

Thomas Young, State of Utah

Upcoming Events

Utah Economic Review & Policy Summit 2017

Date: January 18, 2017
Time: 7:30 AM – 1:00 PM MST