Both the undergraduate and graduate programs of the School of Accounting at the David Eccles School of Business found themselves in the Top 25 of the latest rankings released by the Public Accounting Report.

In a remarkable bit of symmetry, both programs improved spots to land at No. 22 in their respective rankings. For the Master of Accounting program, the jump was two spots from its No. 24 ranking in 2012, while the undergraduate Accounting program moved up five spots from Public Accounting Report’s previous rankings.

Among mid-sized Accounting schools—those with between 16 and 21 full-time faculty members—the results are even more impressive, with the MAcc program landing at No. 8 and the undergraduate program finding itself at No. 7.

“We are very excited to be in the top 25 accounting programs from across the country,” said Dr. Martha Eining, director of the School of Accounting at the David Eccles School of Business. “This recognition for the high quality of our students, programs and faculty is very rewarding.

“The goal of the David Eccles School of Business is to become a top 25 business school,  and this ranking indicates the quality of one of the largest programs in the school.”

Eining noted that the improved rankings will help the School of Accounting recruit increasingly competitive students, and continue placing its graduates in top-level public accounting firms, as well as in industry and government.

The new Public Accounting Report rankings are another noteworthy addition to what’s been an impressive year at the School of Accounting. Among the other highlights:
• Professor Christine Botosan became President-elect of the American Accounting Association
• The school’s tax students won the Regional Deloitte Fantaxtic Competition and were the only students from the state to compete at the national level
• Professor Bob Allen was inducted into the American Accounting Association’s Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Sections Hall of Honor.
• Beta Alpha Psi students were named Superior Chapter for yet another year
• Professor Scott Pickett received the Brady Teachi