Merit-Based Aid

The David Eccles School of Business provides merit-based financial aid opportunities for our exceptional students thanks to the generosity of individuals, corporate donors and the David Eccles School of Business.

All admitted students are considered for merit-based support; no separate application process is necessary. Criteria for selection of awards include demonstrated excellence in academic or professional pursuits. Notification of merit-based financial aid is included with the admissions decision.

The amount of a scholarship award depends on the competitiveness of the admitted applicant pool. For the fall 2016 MHA class, 80 percent of students received a scholarship award. Awards ranged from $1,500 to $35,000 in total value.

The School of Business is also able to award special scholarships for domestic applicants who do not qualify for Utah residency.

Eligible students must be full-time, matriculated graduate students in good standing, with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. Full-time student status means registration of at least 9 credit hours per semester.

Out-of-State Residents – Non-Resident Tuition Waivers

If you are applying for a graduate program but will not qualify for resident tuition, you may be eligible to receive non-resident tuition assistance to significantly reduce the cost of your program. We value geographic diversity in our student body and want to make sure that well-qualified students from out of state have an opportunity to participate in graduate business programs.

All out-of-state applicants are automatically considered for this waiver. Applicants with a Utah address but who may not qualify for residency are encouraged to email us at to request consideration.

The MHA program is now approved as a WGRP program for non-residents.

The Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) allows master, graduate certificate and Ph.D. students who are residents of the WICHE member states to enroll in some 320 high-quality programs at 56 participating institutions outside of their home state and pay resident tuition. The WICHE states are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. For more information about the WGRP program, visit here.

For more information about this program and other financial aid opportunities, please contact us at

Frequently Asked Questions
How do I apply for scholarships?

All admitted students are considered for merit-based support; no separate application process is necessary.

When will I be notified about scholarships?

Scholarship recipients will receive information about the scholarship awarded to them in the admission packet.

How many scholarships are available?

The number of scholarships, as well as the dollar amounts for each award, vary from semester to semester and from year to year.

How much financial assistance through scholarships can I expect to receive?

The dollar amounts for scholarships vary from semester to semester and from year to year. Additionally, awards are consistently very limited and, as a result, very competitive.

Are international students eligible for scholarships?

Yes, all international applicants are considered for the same scholarships as domestic applicants.

What is the selection criteria for scholarship candidates?

For applicants to the MHA program, we will use your application materials (i.e. application, essays, recommendations, GMAT/GRE scores, etc.) as well as a scholarship essay to determine selection.


Let us help.