

## PhD Student Instructions/Criteria for Doctoral FACULTY Teaching Excellence Award

The Doctoral Faculty Teaching Excellence Award is awarded each year by the Business Doctoral Student Organization (BDSO) Committee to one faculty member. This award is intended to recognize outstanding faculty work with doctoral students. All current business doctoral students are invited to nominate a faculty member. Award recipients will be recognized and presented with a plaque and \$2,000 at a special event the day before graduation.

## To nominate a faculty member:

- 1. Write a one-page statement or letter of recommendation.
- 2. Submit the letter to the PhD Office. The office will then submit the letter to the BDSO Committee.
- 3. All letters must be submitted by the last Friday in February, at 4:00pm.

## **Letter of Recommendation Criteria:**

- 1. Students should include persuasive arguments and compelling evidence demonstrating that the nominee has met one or both of the following selection criteria:
  - a. **Exceptional teaching** of seminars or other courses relevant to doctoral students
    - i. The letter must clearly demonstrate that the level of service has exceeded the typical high level of performance.
    - ii. The number of students involved in the nomination process will be considered, in addition to the arguments and evidence offered.
  - b. Extraordinary research supervision and career mentoring
    - i. The letter must adequately convey the nature and impact of individualized service performed.
    - ii. The number of students involved in the nomination process will not be an essential factor in assessing a nominee in this category.
- 2. Student may also choose to include items such as faculty member's supervisory committee participation and participation in professional meetings.
- 3. The letter may be signed by more than one student, and supporting statements by other impacted students may be attached. Multiple letters nominating the same candidate are welcome.

- 4. Faculty members who have received the award within the past five years are ineligible. These include: Bryan Bonner, Glen Schmidt, David Plumlee, Arthur Brief, Sarah McVay, Debra Scammon, and Bill Hesterly. The award is presented to no more than one faculty member each year. In special cases, two recipients may be awarded.
- 5. Faculty may represent any business department.